At the Edge of the Ocean

105

 

A few years ago, I visited a magical place. No, it wasn’t Wonderland, Middle Earth or Narnia – although those are on my bucket list. A group in my school was going on a three-day retreat somewhere ( I didn’t know where), and there was space available if I was interested. Why not? I thought. We were on Spring Break and I had nothing better to do. And so it was that I found myself at Ender’s Island, Connecticut, a tiny, beautiful outcrop of rock that was constantly caressed by the Atlantic Ocean.

069

 

034

We arrived at night after a three-hour drive.

040

I could hear the waves, and feel the ocean breeze. It was as if between them, they were welcoming me.

050

For the next three days, I took every chance I could to explore the island. It wasn’t at all big, but it was full of so many enchanting things that I often stood in the exact same place, looking at the exact same thing for a long while before I was able to pry myself and go elsewhere.

091

I don’t remember ever being so close to the ocean. I am normally afraid of water (well, large bodies of water) but this time, I was fascinated by it.

065

 

079

Perhaps it was an effect of the island, or my enthrallment, but even the most mundane things became extraordinary in my eyes.

Lamp

090

While on the island, I stopped thinking in words, but in shapes, and colours, textures and patterns.

085

 

089

I promptly forgot what we discussed during the retreat. All I remember was a quiet and unshakable sense of contentment at being surrounded by subtle beauty.

095

 

101

It was here that I understood why authors of the books I read spend several words trying to describe the landscape. I think they’re brave for trying. I think certain kinds of beauty cannot be captured in words.

103

 

107052

When the time came, I was sad to leave.

102

Pic 7

However, I didn’t stay sad for very long.

Tree

Leave a Reply

