One of Those Internet Lists…

… but this one is actually really good.

I pinched this off a website*

It’s twenty notes of advice for people in their twenties, but I think good sense is ageless. I read the list and thought it was perfect, so I decided to share it.

  1. Find three hobbies you love: one to make you money, one to keep you in shape, and one to be creative.
  2. Getting a degree matters, but getting the right degree matters even more.
  3. Leave every job you have on good terms. Do not burn your bridges.
  4. See the world while you still don’t have a ton of responsibilities.
  5. Don’t live on the Internet. Go out and experience real life. [If I was ever going to get a bumper sticker or a T-shirt with a message, this is what it would say]
  6. Don’t give up what you want most for what you want now.
  7. Read. A lot. [Check]
  8. Dress to impress. [I feel as if everyone in Nigeria has this one down pat]
  9. Never pinch pennies on brakes or tires.
  10. Never stop learning
  11. Marry someone you consider your best friend.
  12. All adventures in life start by just showing up.
  13. Drama is never worth putting up with. [My life’s motto]
  14. Value experiences over possessions.
  15. Drive slow in bad weather.
  16. Money comes and goes. Time just goes.
  17. Don’t judge yourself on your intentions but your actions. [I struggle with this one]
  18. Always make new mistakes.
  19. Don’t rely on other people to make you happy. [Yaaaaas]
  20. Bite less; chew more. [I’m still not sure if they mean this literally, figuratively, or both]

By Johnny Webber

*Can I just say that even though this list was originally posted on dailyzenlist.com, Stumble Upon is THE most awesome website on the planet; I’d never have discovered this list (and a bunch of other really great pages) without the Stumble. I haven’t been on Stumble Upon in a while ‘cause I’ve had a busy year, but one day in the future when I have time and Internet, I will revisit what is easily my favourite website.

Leave a Reply

